EL Elementary School

Loker EL Staff


Ms. Amy Behr 
 Amy_Behr@waylandps.org

High School EL Staff


Ms. Alla Shmidt
Alla_Shmidt@waylandps.org

Claypit Hill EL Staff

el
Ms. Theresa Gray
Theresa_Gray@waylandps.org


Loker/Claypit Hill
EL Staff

el
Heather Elliott
Heather_Elliott@waylandps.org



              


Happy Hollow EL Staff

 

 
Ms. Stephanie Frye   
Stephanie_Frye@waylandps.org

 Middle School EL Staff

 


Roxanne Brown  
Roxanne_Brown@waylandps.org


Elementary Math                            
Elementary Reading and Writing 

Strategies for ELLs in the Classroom

Our English Language Learner Programs in the Elementary Schools offer English as a Second Language Instruction (ESL Instruction) to Emerging Bilingual students (students who speak a language other than English in their home.) Students are placed in their grade level classrooms and are taught English as needed throughout their day, depending on their English Proficiency Level. The English Language teacher works with the student in a separate classroom on English instruction, and pushes into the student's classroom to assist them with daily class work. We are fortunate to have a growing bilingual population in Wayland and look forward to supporting you and your child. 

Click on this link to learn about the English Language Development Levels (ELD): https://www.wida.us/standards/eld.aspx  
                                                                                                                                  (Click on 2012 ELD Standards-right column)

Click on this link for bilingual resources:  
http://www.childrenslibrary.org/icdl/SimpleSearchCategory?ilang=English  (Books in All Languages)
 http://www.p12.nysed.gov/biling/bilinge/bilingual_glossaries.htm
 (multiple languages and grade levels) 
http://www.pdictionary.com/english/browse.php?letter=n 
(Basic Vocabulary-Beginner English Speakers) 
http://www.visualthesaurus.com/index.jsp 
(Word Webs to help with refining meaning-upper levels)

Click on this link for Translation Tools:    
https://translate.google.com/
Click on this link for informative information about Language Instruction Differentiation: 
WIDA Language Differentiation Workshop.pptx 
                                                                              

 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.